Watch the iPhone 12 launch: How to livestream next week’s Apple event

Watch the iPhone 12 launch: How to livestream next week’s Apple event

apple-time-flies-header-scaled.jpg

Apple is holding its annual autumn event a few weeks later this year. Typically, it unveils the latest iPhone lineup in September. Last year, it unveiled the iPhone 11, and the year before that it had the iPhone XS series. However, 2020 isn’t a normal year. 

Technically, last month, Apple did hold a separate event, where it only announced the latest Apple Watches and iPads. The company sent out additional invites recently announcing that a second next event is set to take place Oct. 13 — the same day as Prime Day 2020 — and it’s rumored to be all about the iPhone 12 and perhaps even a few other new pieces of hardware.

Here’s how to watch the show go down online, plus what to expect from Apple.

When is Apple’s iPhone 12 event?

Apple’s next event is Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2020. The keynote is set to start at 10am PDT on the US West coast, 1pm EDT on the US East coast, 6pm BST in the UK, 7pm CEST in Central Europe, 1am CST in Beijing, 2am JST in Japan, and 3am AEST in Sydney.

How to watch Apple’s iPhone 12 event online

Apple has already confirmed the show is online-only, with no in-person component, and will be streamed online for all to watch. 

  • Apple channel on YouTube: Apple typically broadcasts its iPhone events live on YouTube. The live stream video is currently not available, but we will host it here once it pops up.
  • Apple Event website: You can easily stream Apple’s event from the web on your desktop or mobile device. Just make sure your web browser — Safari, Chrome, Firefox, or Edge — is up to date and supports MSE, H.264, and AAC.
  • Apple Event app: Download the Apple Events app from the App Store on your Apple TV, though it may already be installed on your set-top box if it’s an older model. Just ensure you have at least the second-generation Apple TV running the latest software or TvOS update. You can also cast the stream from your iOS device to your Apple TV via Apple AirPlay.

What to expect from Apple’s iPhone 12 event

Apple’s invite for the event teases “Hi, Speed” — perhaps an indication the iPhone 12 is coming with support for fast 5G networks, as rumored. The circles with Apple’s logo on the invite also reminds us of leaked AirTag images. Apple is supposedly developing Tile-like trackers that are circular. Could they be unveiled, too? Here’s a quick summary of everything expected:

  • iPhone 12: Apple annually refreshes its iPhone lineup, and this year, the iPhone 12 is due. The latest rumors indicate a 5.4-inch model, a 6.1-inch model, and a 6.7-inch model will debut. There might even be two versions of the 6.1-inch model — one could be a standard iPhone 12, while the other would be the iPhone 12 Pro.
  • AirPods Studio: Apple is thought to be developing a pair of wireless over-ear headphones separate from the Beats brand. They will be Apple-branded and part of the AirPods range. Make no mistake — these will be high-end cans.
  • HomePod 2: A smaller, cheaper HomePod speaker is rumored to arrive sometime this year. So far, leakers indicate it’ll be half the size of the existing HomePod, not quite as expensive, and it’ll still be powered by Siri, of course.
  • AirTags: Finally, Apple might’ve developed a Tile-like product that uses ultra-wideband tech and Bluetooth, combined with crowdsourcing techniques, to help you locate lost or stolen items. It’s been rumoured for well over a year at this point.

So, those are the most likely items, but maybe Apple will surprise us with the first Arm Mac, too.

Source link

Related Post